Kirkstall St Stephen’s Church of England (VA) Primary School Governing Body

Chair: Reverend Stephen Kaye
Vice Chair: Mr Andy Rhodes


The constitution of the governing body is:


 1 Local Authority (LA) governor, recommended by the LA and approved by the governing body

 2 Parent governors, formally elected through a ballot of parents unless the election is uncontested

 1 staff governor, formally elected by staff employed at school

 4 foundation governors, appointed by the Church Diocese

1 Associate Members appointed by the Governing Body


 The governing body operates with the following subcommittees who meet separately in advance of the main governing body meeting each term:


Resources committee - responsible for staffing including the appointment and role of the SENCO, equality and diversity, finance, property management, health and safety and nutritional standards. Committee chair: Mr Bill Davidson


Teaching and learning & Pupil Support committee - responsible for teaching and learning matters including target setting, standards and achievement, SEN (including reporting annually on the success of the SEN policy), monitoring teaching and learning and curriculum provision and ensuring that the governing body is represented at school improvement discussions. This committee are also responsible for behaviour, safeguarding, attendance, children’s spiritual, moral social and cultural development, children, parent and staff voice, extra-curricular activities, pupil premium, cluster and other partnerships.  Committee chair: Mr Andy Rhodes

Governors with Special Responsibilities 

Area of Responsibility

Governor  School Contact


Cllr F Venner  Mr P Sheppard


Mr P Baldacchino-Steward  Mr P Sheppard


Mrs R Parr  Mrs J Skelton


Mrs C Greaves  Miss S O'Connor

Financial Data

Mr B Davidson  Mr P Sheppard & Mrs J Skelton

Health & Safety

Mrs S Hudson  Mrs J Skelton

Looked After Children

Mrs C Greaves  Mr P Sheppard


Mrs S Black  Miss R Williams

PE & Sports Premium

Mr A Rhodes  Mr H Crossley

Performance Data

Mr P Baldacchino-Steward  Mr P Sheppard & Miss Z Barnett

Pupil Premium

Mr B Davidson  Miss Z Barnett

RE & Collective Worship

Rev'd. S Kaye  Mrs J Bailey

Early Reading & Phonics 

Mr A Rhodes  Mrs G Coverdale


Mrs C Greaves  Mr P Sheppard


Mrs L Dray  Mrs F Andrews


Cllr F Venner  Miss S O'Connor

School Improvement Advisor Visits

Mr P Baldacchino-Steward  Mr P Sheppard


Mr P Baldacchino-Steward  Mr P Sheppard


Register of Interests

All members of our Governing Body have completed the REGISTER OF GOVERNORS’ BUSINESS AND PERSONAL INTERESTS.

Mr P Baldacchino-Steward has declared his role as a governor at Wheldrake with Thorganby Church of England Primary School.


Files to Download

Other pages

Kirkstall St Stephen's C of E (VA) Primary School

Morris Lane,

entrance via Norman Street

Janet Skelton
School Business Manager

Frances Andrews 0113 382 1960
OFSTED Good School fair achiever award School Games Gold 15/16 Activemark 2008 Artsmark Gold Primary Science Quality Mark Gold Active Schools Logo COE Outstanding