Governors Profiles

Mr Philip Baldacchino-Steward (Chair) Mr Richard Warrington
Mrs Christine Greaves Reverend Stephen Kaye
Councillor Fiona Venner Mr Steven Viles
Miss Zoe Barnett  Miss Sophie O'Connor 
Shiela Black - photo.jpg
Mr Andy Rhodes Mrs Susan Hudson
Mr Bill Davidson Mrs Rebecca Parr
Shiela Black - photo.jpg  
Dr Sheila Black  

Members of the Governing Body

Mr Steven Viles (Head Teacher)
Miss Zoe Barnett (Deputy Head and Staff representative) 

Foundation Governors - Appointed by the Diocese
Mr Philip Baldacchino-Steward  (Chair)
Appointed November 2017 by parental election. Approved and appointed as Foundation Governor June 2019. Term of office 4 years.

"As a previous parent at Kirkstall St Stephen's I am keen to continue the development of the school to make a positive impact for all the children who attend. As a previous resident of Kirkstall for some 13 years, the community is a very welcoming, warm environment and the school is a big part of it. . My aim is to be able to make a positive contribution to the school and every child’s education and play an active role in helping the school go from strength to strength. My background is in business and I oversee an events company which brings wide ranging people and business skills including Human Resources, finance and Health & Safety."

Mrs Christine Greaves (Vice Chair)
Reappointed May 2019 by the PCC at St Stephen's Church. Term of office 4 years.
"I started as a parent governor at St Stephens school in 1989 when my daughter was in Reception. After she left, I became a foundation governor. Apart from an 18 month break, I have remained a governor ever since. I am governor representative for the school council.

As a member of St Stephens church, as part of the Open the Book team, we visit school once each month to act out Bible stories.
I try and attend the end of term services in church and occasional assemblies in school.
My job outside of school is as a Chaperone looking after children working in television and theatre."

Mrs Susan Hudson
Reappointed May 2019  by the PCC at St Stephen's Church. Term of office 4 years.
"I am the Manager at Kirkstall St Stephen's Pre School and have been on the Governing Body since 2012 becoming a Foundation Governor in Spring 2015."

Reverend Stephen Kaye
Appointed February 2018, by PCC at St Stephen's Church. Term of office 4 years.

"What a great responsibility, one that I feel compliments my role of Vicar here in Kirkstall. I joined the Governing Body of the school in Spring 2018. I believe that the links between School and Church are already great and am really excited about developing the relationship further. As Vicar in Kirkstall, along with the Bishop of Kirkstall I have a wide responsibility for each person within the parish, whilst I can do that from the church, being involved with this wonderful school allows for a greater opportunities.

I'm happy to talk with anyone who wants to chat about the school, church or life in general."


Mr Bill Davidson

Appointed May 2021, by PCC at St Stephen's Church. Term of office 4 years.


Mrs Sheila Black

Appointed May 2021, by PCC at St Stephen's Church. Term of office 4 years.


Mr Andrew Rhodes
Appointed May 2021, by the PCC at St Stephen's Church. Term of Office 4 years.

Previously parent governor elected by the parents in February 2019.

I have one child at Kirkstall St Stephen's and one who has just moved into Year 7 at high school, and have always liked the atmosphere around school. I applied to be a governor to try and support the school in it's efforts to help our children grow as learners and people. I am a primary school teacher myself in Armley where I have worked for 16 years. I live in Kirkstall where I also coach with Kirkstall Crusaders under 7's. 

Parent Governors - Elected by the parents of children in school

Mr Richard Warrington
Appointed November 2017 by parental election. Term of office 4 years.
"I joined the governing body this September as a parent governor. I have a varied background in the charity sector as a community development worker and researcher. After working for a short while as a Primary School teacher I now work for Young Lives Leeds, an advice and support networks for charities in Leeds that work with children, young people and their families. As a keen trombonist you might catch me playing at Kirkstall Festival or any number of other events around the city."

LEA Governor - Appointed by the Local Authority
Cllr Fiona Venner
Reappointed September 2019 by Local Authority. Term of office 4 years.
"I have been a Local Education Authority appointed governor since 2016 and am a Labour Councillor for the Kirkstall Ward. I have worked in mental health for 25 years and I am the  Chief Executive of the city wide charity 'Leeds Survivor Led Crisis Service' which provides out of hours support to people in acute mental health crisis. I am a marathon runner and member of Kirkstall Harriers running club. I live very near the school, with my partner and my cats."

Associate Members - Appointed by the Governing Body
Mrs Rebecca Parr

Previous Members of the Governing Body

   Name Date of                Appointment Appointed by Date stepped down
Mrs S Klinge- Davis  7th Nov 18 Parental election 13th Mar 19
Mrs R Spencer 17th Nov 14 Parental election 28th Feb 18
Mr A Kendall 1st June 14 Diocese of Leeds 14th Nov 17
Mrs L Walker 15th Oct 13 Diocese of Leeds 14th Nov 17
Rev'd J Smith 1st June 14 Diocese of Leeds 14th June 17
Ms H Moore 16th June 16 Parental election 14th June 17
Rev'd N Sinclair 1st Nov 14 Diocese of Leeds 1st Nov 17

Contact the Governors

The Governing Body can be contacted via the School Office in the first instance. Please write 'FAO Governing Body' or 'FAO Named Governor' in the subject header so it can be immediately forwarded on.


Kirkstall St Stephen's C of E (VA) Primary School

Morris Lane,

entrance via Norman Street

Janet Skelton
School Business Manager 0113 382 1960
OFSTED Good School fair achiever award School Games Gold 15/16 Activemark 2008 Artsmark Gold Primary Science Quality Mark Gold Active Schools Logo COE Outstanding