Kirkstall St. Stephen’s C of E (Voluntary Aided) Primary School


Kirkstall St Stephen’s Church of England (VA) Primary School Governing Body


Chair: Mr Philip Baldacchino-Steward
Vice Chair: Mrs Christine Greaves


The constitution of the governing body is:




1 Local Authority (LA) governor, recommended by the LA and approved by the governing body


2 Parent governors, formally elected through a ballot of parents unless the election is uncontested


1 staff governor, formally elected by staff employed at school


4 foundation governors, appointed by the Church Diocese

3 Associate Members appointed by the Governing Body





The governing body operates with the following subcommittees who meet separately in advance of the main governing body meeting each term:


Resources committee - responsible for staffing including the appointment and role of the SENCO, equality and diversity, finance, property management, health and safety and nutritional standards. Committee chair: Mr Phil Baldacchino-Steward


Teaching and learning & Pupil Support committee - responsible for teaching and learning matters including target setting, standards and achievement, SEN (including reporting annually on the success of the SEN policy), monitoring teaching and learning and curriculum provision and ensuring that the governing body is represented at school improvement discussions. This committee are also responsible for behaviour, safeguarding, attendance, children’s spiritual, moral social and cultural development, children, parent and staff voice, extra-curricular activities, pupil premium, cluster and other partnerships.  Committee chair: Mr Rich Warrington


Governors with Special Responsibilities
Area of Responsibility Governor  School Contact
Attendance Cllr F Venner  Mr S Viles
Complaints Mr P Baldacchino-Steward  Mr S Viles
Equalities Mrs R Parr  Mrs J Skelton
EYFS Mrs C Greaves  Miss S O'Connor
Financial Data Mr B Davidson  Mr S Viles & Mrs J Skelton
Health & Safety Mrs S Hudson  Mrs J Skelton
Looked After Children Mrs C Greaves  Mr S Viles
Maths (SIP Priority 2) Mrs S Black  Mrs H Straw
PE & Sports Premium Mr A Rhodes  Mr H Crossley
Performance Data Mr P Baldacchino-Steward  Mr S Viles & Miss S O'Connor
Pupil Premium Mr R Warrington  Miss S O'Connor
RE & Collective Worship Rev'd. S Kaye  Mrs J Bailey
Reading (SIP Priority 1) Mr A Rhodes  Mrs G Coverdale
Safeguarding Mrs C Greaves  Mr S Viles & Mrs J Doyle
SEND Mr R Warrington  Miss R Williams
SEMH (SIP Priority 3) Cllr F Venner  Miss S O'Connor
School Improvement Advisor Visits Mr P Baldacchino-Steward  Mr S Viles
Training Mr P Baldacchino-Steward  Mr S Viles





This school is committed to safeguarding and promoting the wellbeing of
all children, and expects our staff and volunteers to share this commitment.